McDonnell Douglas F-15 Eagle

TypeAir superiority fighter
Country of originUnited States
ManufacturerMcDonnell Douglas – now Boeing Defense, Space & Security
First flight27 July 1972
Introduced9 January 1976
Produced1972 (F-15 A/B)
1978 (F-15 C/D)
Numbers builtF-15A/B/C/D/J/DJ: 1,198 units
Unit costsF-15A/B: USD 27.9 million (1998)
F-15C/D: USD 29.9 million (1998)
Max speedHigh altitude: Mach 2.5+ (1,650+ mph, 2,660+ km/h)
Low altitude: Mach 1.2 (900 mph, 1,450 km/h)
Max rangeCombat radius: 1,061 nmi (1,222 mi, 1,967 km) for interdiction mission
Ferry range: 3,450 mi (3,000 nmi, 5,550 km) with conformal fuel tanks and three external fuel tanks
DimensionsLength: 63 ft 9 in (19.43 m)
Wingspan: 42 ft 10 in (13.05 m)
Height: 18 ft 6 in (5.63 m)
WeightEmpty weight: 28,000 lb (12,700 kg)
Loaded weight: 44,500 lb (20,200 kg)
Max takeoff weight: 68,000 lb (30,845 kg)
Powerplant2 × Pratt & Whitney F100-100 or -220 afterburning turbofans
Dry thrust: 17,450 lbf (77.62 kN) each
Thrust with afterburner: 25,000 lbf for-220 (111.2 kN for -220) each
ArmamentGuns: 1 20 mm (0.787 in) M61 Vulcan 6-barreled gatling cannon 940 rounds

OperatorsIsrael, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Singapore (Strike Eagle),South Korea (Strike Eagle), USA

One day in 1967, the U.S. intelligence received a surprising news that the country’s rival, the Soviet Union, was developing what they believed as a fighter, a large one with huge tailplanes and tail fins, namely the MiG-25 Foxbat. The Foxbat was not actually a jet fighter but an interceptor. However, this was one of causes that drove the U.S. military to produce a jet fighter to ensure air superiority in the country’s hand. It led to the development of a twin-engine and all-weather supersonic jet fighter called the F-15 Eagle.

The F-15 Eagle was developed by McDonnell Douglas, but now Boeing produces thejet fighter. The main purpose of the F-15 Eagle is to possess and maintain air superiority. After times, the world knows the F-15 Eagle as one of the most powerful jet fighters that has no losses in dogfights.

The Design and Development of F-15

In October 1965, the U.S. Air Force required an air superiority fighter called F-X, it means Fighter-Unknown or Fighter-Experimental. The requirements wanted a single-seat and relatively lightweight air superiority fighter with maximum speed of Mach 2.5. There were eight aircraft manufacturers submitted their proposals. The McDonnell Douglas won the competition.

The F-15 has basically two variants: single-seat and twin-seat. Both are powered by two Pratt & Whitney F100 with afterburners and these engines allow the F-16 to climb to 10,000 m (30,000 ft) in approximately 60 seconds. The F-15 has two vertical stabilizers and the aircraft is designed to have low wing loading with a high thrust-to-weight ratio to make it highly maneuverable.

This fighter is equipped with the standard M61 Vulcan gun along with some other armaments such as AIM-7 Sparrow, AIM-120 AMRAAM and AIM-9 Sidewinder. With 11 hardpoints, the F-16 can also carry external drop tanks.

The F-15 eagle also equipped with a multi-mission avionics system includes a heads-up display (HUD), advanced radar, inertial guidance system (INS), flight instruments, ultra high frequency (UHF) communications, and Tactical Air Navigation (TACAN) and Instrument Landing System (ILS) receivers. It also has an internally mounted, tactical electronic-warfare system, identification, friend or foe (IFF) system, electronic countermeasures suite and a central digital computer.

In 2007, the US Air Force grounded all F-15 aircrafts after a Missouri Air National Guard F-15C crashed on 2 November 2007. The crashed F-15 came apart in the flight. Reportedly a critical location in the upper longerons on the F-15C model was postulated of causing the failure.

In January 2008, the USAF Air Combat Command (ACC) announced a portion of its F-15A through D-model fleet for return to flying status. It also recommended a limited return to flight for units worldwide using the affected models. On 16 September 2009, the last F-15A, an Oregon Air National Guard aircraft, was retired marking the end of service for the A- and B-models in the United States.

The F-15 variants

  • F-15A – Single-seat all-weather air superiority fighter.
  • F-15B – Two-seat training version, formerly designated TF-15A.
  • F-15C – Improved single-seat all-weather air-superiority fighter version. Some were upgraded with AN/APG-70 radar.
  • F-15D – Two-seat training version.
  • F-15J – Single-seat all-weather air-superiority fighter version for the Japan Air Self-Defense Force.
  • F-15DJ – Two-seat training version for the Japan Air Self-Defense Force.
  • F-15N Sea Eagle – Carrier-capable variant.
  • F-15E Strike Eagle – Two-seat variant with significant structural changes and much more powerful engines.
  • F-15SE Silent Eagle – An upgraded F-15E with stealth technology.
  • F-15 S/MTD – Short takeoff and landing version.
  • F-15 ACTIVE – An upgraded version of the F-15 S/MTD with thrust vectoring nozzle.
  • F-15B Research Testbed – Modified F-15B and used by NASA’s Dryden Flight Research Center for flight tests.

F-15 Eagle videos

F-15 Air Combat


Great Sounding F-15 Eagle Flying Through The Mach Loop Wales

Report an error

Related Military Aircraft:

2 Comments on "McDonnell Douglas F-15 Eagle"

Trackbacks for this post

  1. MiG-31 Foxhound » Fighter Aircraft
  2. McDonnell Douglas F-4 Phantom II » Fighter Aircraft

Leave a Comment

comm comm comm